By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Search for next Stan State president underway
Dr. Ellen Junn
Dr. Ellen Junn retired from the position of Stan State president in August. The search for her successor is expected to last one year (Photo contributed).

The search for the next president of California State University, Stanislaus in Turlock is on as the California State University Board of Trustees have scheduled their first selection committee meeting for Nov. 1. 

The meeting will be held in a hybrid in-person/virtual open forum from 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. at the University Event Center on the Stanislaus State campus. During this time, the committee will outline the search process and the community will be invited to share their preferred attributes of Stan State’s next president.

Dr. Susan E. Borrego currently serves as interim president following the retirement of Dr. Ellen Junn in August. Borrego will serve as interim for approximately one year while the national search is conducted.

The Advisory Committee, which is appointed by the chair of the CSU trustees per board policy, is composed of representatives from the faculty, staff, students and alumni, as well as a member of a campus advisory board. They are selected by the campus's constituency groups. Also on the Advisory Committee is a vice president or academic dean from the campus, and a president of another CSU campus—both selected by the chancellor. Both committees function as one unified group.

CSU Trustee Yammilette Rodriguez will chair the committee. Other trustee members include Jose Antonio Vargas, Darlene Yee-Melichar, Trustee Chair Wenda Fong and CSU Chancellor Mildred García.

Members of the Advisory Committee include faculty representatives Dr. Daniel Soodjinda and Dr. Ann Strahm, Stan State Academic Senate speaker Dr. Marcy R. Chvasta, staff representative Dawn McCulley, student representatives Anahi Lopez and Adrian Sanchez, alumni representative Adrian S. Harrell, campus advisory board representative Christine Schweininger, senior associate vice president for Communications, Marketing and Media Relations Dr. Rosalee Rush as an administration representative, community representatives John Jacinto and Jeffrey Lewis and Marcos State President Dr. Ellen J. Neufeldt.

Over the next several months, the committee will review candidates and conduct interviews.

Campus and community members wishing to address the committee at next Wednesday’s committee open forum through the virtual option are required to register in advance at The deadline to register to speak is 5 p.m. Oct. 31. Confirmed registrants will receive details about how to participate.

The virtual open forum will be web-streamed live and archived on the President Search website​.