By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Turlock Chamber of Commerce awards ag scholarships to area students
Placeholder Image

The Turlock Chamber of Commerce Ag Committee is hosting its 12th Annual Ag Scholarship Luncheon on Monday at the Stanislaus County Fair Grounds Turf Club. The event honors local college-bound high school seniors who intend to major in agriculture, with scholarships designed to help them reach their educational goals. A sold out crowd of 350 industry supporters, family, and students is expected.
This year 23 students will be awarded $20,500 in scholarships. Over the past 12 years the Turlock Chamber of Commerce Ag Committee has provided 208 scholarships totaling $153,300. An additional $70,000 has been donated to various educational activities including the popular 4-H Farmyard Experience at the Stanislaus County Fair.
"The success of the luncheon is a tribute to the outstanding support of area businesses and loyal sponsors that participate year after year and who believe that the future of agriculture lies in the hands of our youth," said Sharon Silva, Turlock Chamber of Commerce CEO.
This year Mindy Burris, a 2006 past recipient from Hughson High School, has been asked to speak at the luncheon. Burris is a graduate of Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, earning both bachelor and master degrees. She is currently employed as the communication coordinator for California Foundation for Agriculture in the Classroom.
"It's important that our many donors and sponsors hear for themselves how important their contributions are to the kids," said Wes Jacobs, 2012 chairman of the Ag Scholarship Committee. "In these challenging economic times, providing these scholarships to aspiring students is an important investment in our local agricultural based economy."
This year's recipients are:
• Turlock High School: Sara Baskins, Tyler Gomes, Cameron King, Alexander Luis
• Pitman High School: Julia Brewer, Simon Staley, Lyle Zimmer
• Livingston High School: Gavin Abraham, Sara Cervantes, Amanjot Kaur
• Hughson High School: Trent Damas, Kaitylynn Daugherty, Kevin Gleason, Emily Henson, Rebecca Hobby, Nancy Readd, Justin Voss
• Denair High School: Kristen Anderson
• Hilmar High School: Anthony Drumonde, Randy Edwards, Austin Jones, Janet Jones
• CSU-Stanislaus: Helen Ott
The Turlock Chamber Ag Committee scholarship program is intended to interest and encouraged capable young people to enter the agricultural industry. The Ag Committee is designed to support events and activities aimed at developing future agricultural leaders, educating the public and informing policy makers. It is the committee's belief that everyone benefits from this scholarship program. The students receive assistance towards attaining their chosen educational goal and the industry receives the new talent needed to remain competitive in today's business world.