By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Santos to helm TID Board
Berryhill, Fiorini sit for final meeting
Division 4 Director Rob Santos was unanimously elected to the seat of president. - photo by Photo Contributed
The Turlock Irrigation District Board of Directors voted in a new president and vice president on Tuesday, as they bid adieu to two long-term members of the board.
Division 4 Director Rob Santos, who joined the board in 2007, was unanimously elected to the seat of president. Division 2 Director Charles Fernandes, a TID board member since 2001, and president for the past two years, will assume the role of vice president.
The terms will run through Dec. 1, 2011. Santos and Fernandes will be seated in their new roles on Dec. 8 at the next TID meeting, the same day TID will welcome newly elected Division 3 Director Joe Alamo and Division 5 Director Ron Macedo.
“I’m excited,” Santos said. “I think we have three very eager new board members coming on. … What we lack in experience we’re going to make up in hard work, intelligence, and a dedication to TID.”
Alamo will replace outgoing Division 3 Director Michael Berryhill, while Macedo will take the seat currently held by Division 5 Director Randy Fiorini. New Division 1 Director Michael Frantz was seated last week, replacing Phillip Short who died Sept. 25. Santos and Fernandes are the only returning members of the board.
Tuesday also marked the final meeting for Berryhill and Fiorini, as the regularly scheduled Dec. 1 meeting was canceled. Fiorini took advantage of the opportunity to speak of his time on the board and to thank Fernandes for his two years of management.
“I’d like to compliment you on doing such an outstanding job and leading us through a couple of the driest years in the history of the TID,” Fiorini said. “… You have led with professionalism, and I have been proud to serve under your leadership.”
Fiorini opted not to seek reelection when his term was up this year. He has served the district since 1993, and was the second longest tenured member of the board.
Fiorini represented the TID as president of the Association of California Water Agencies, serving as chair of its Federal Affairs Committee. He was also past president of the California Farm Water Coalition Board of Directors.
Berryhill, a Republican, also declined to seek reelection this year. Instead he will face Rep. Dennis Cardoza (D-CA18) in a November 2010 contest for a seat in the U.S. House of Representatives.
Berryhill has served the TID Board since 1983. He was the longest tenured member of the board and represented the district with the San Joaquin River Group Authority and the Westside Power Authority.
While Fernandes noted that he had high hopes for the incoming board members, he couldn’t help but remark that the years of experience that were departing were “almost irreplaceable.”
“I would like to go on record not only for this board, but for the entire district to thank you for your years of service,” Fernandes said to the outgoing directors. “You will be missed.”
To contact Alex Cantatore, e-mail or call 634-9141 ext. 2005.