By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
VFW awards
The VFW gives a scholarship to Turlock High School senior Emily Ngo (SABRA STAFFORD/The Journal).

The VFW Turlock Post 5059 held a service Saturday to honor those who have served the community and those looking to be potential leaders. The service recognized Turlock Fire Capt. Kevin Tidwell, who was the Firefighter of the Year; Turlock Police Sgt. Steven Crawford, who was Officer of the Year; Tom Vincent, the Volunteer of the Year at the police department; and Lilia Franco as the police department’s Employee of the Year. The VFW also gave awards of recognition to former Turlock Mayor Gary Soiseth and former Congressman Jeff Denham for their years of service to veterans. The VFW gave a scholarship to Turlock High School senior Emily Ngo, who took second place in the organization’s Voice of Democracy essay contest. The first-place winner was unable to attend the event.