By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Stan State honors seven faculty with Outstanding Awards for 2020-2021
csus sign

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Kim Greer announced the recipients of Stan State’s Outstanding Faculty Awards and the Elizabeth Anne B. Papageorge Faculty Development Award for the 2020-2021 academic year. Presented annually, the Faculty Awards recognize exceptional achievements in teaching, research, service to the community and faculty governance.

Outstanding Professor:

Anita Pedersen-Pennock, Department of Psychology and Child Development

Pedersen-Pennock's ability to cultivate an empathetic and engaging classroom environment despite virtual teaching and learning challenges has been truly admirable. In particular, she has made it a point to incorporate undergraduate and graduate students in research activities as well as leading the McNair Scholars, participating in the Faculty Mentor Program and serving on several committees for graduate theses.

Outstanding Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity:

Sarah Chan, Department of Music

Chan has been awarded eleven grants and has been prolific in the performance of her music in concertos and professional recordings. In addition, she has conducted countless master classes, interviews, and presentations, as well as created numerous publications. Her impact goes far beyond personal accomplishment and serves as outreach for the university and enriches our entire community.

Gina Cook, Department of Psychology and Child Development

Cook has amassed over $1.5 million in grants, contracts, consulting, and other funding sources. In addition, she has authored 19 refereed publications and 8 books or other publications. With numerous conference presentations as well, her work has significantly impacted not only our campus, but her field of study as well.

Xun (Peter) Xu, Department of Management, Operations, and Marketing

Xu has created 43 refereed journal publications and four book chapters and editorial publications. He has also presented at countless conferences and given numerous professional presentations. With 10 papers under review and another 24 papers in progress, his work is prolific and meaningful on every level

Outstanding Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity:

Ann Strahm, Department of Sociology

Strahm has a distinguished record of active and engaged participation in faculty governance and has authored or co-authored several senate resolutions. The breadth and depth of her service to Stanislaus State is highlighted by her service as chair-elect of the University Educational Policies Committee (UEPC) and Vice President of the Stanislaus chapter of the California Faculty Association (CFA). In addition, her work on various COVID-19 planning committees has been especially vital during these very trying times.

Elizabeth Anne B. Papageorge Faculty Development Award:

Sarah Bissonnette, Department of Biological Sciences

Bissonnette has cultivated an incredibly engaging and active learning environment for students in her courses. In addition, she provides extra support for students through supplemental instruction, learning assistants and direct mentorships. These experiences have been transformational for her students. Her work outside the classroom is equally as admirable and includes service as a co-PI for an NSF grant for collaboration and inclusion in the sciences.

Mary Roaf, Department of Anthropology, Geography and Ethnic Studies 

Roaf is an accomplished scholar, highly impactful in the classroom, and incredibly dedicated to our students. Her teaching philosophy utilizes the development of critical analysis, informed by theory and practice, and a student-centered learning environment in a way that is absolutely phenomenal. In addition, she has dedicated time to the Faculty Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (FCETL) in leading workshops on dismantling white supremacy in faculty teaching.