By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Two TUSD Board races go down to the wire

The final tallies of the 2022 General Election show multiple tight races for seats on the Turlock Unified School District Board of Trustees. In Area 4, incumbent Mary Jackson came out ahead of challenger Jeff C. Nichols by just 54 votes. In Area 6, the margin wound up as tight as it could possibly get as challenger Rupinder Singh Jagpal beat incumbent Jeffrey Cortinas by just a single vote.

Jackson and Jagpal both led in votes on election night, but it was the in-person votes that were cast on election day that dramatically closed the gaps.

In the Area 6 race between Jagpal and Cortinas, there were a total of 2,483 votes cast with an additional 321 voters choosing neither candidate. Jagpal received 1,242 votes while Cortinas received 1,241 votes.

A total of 4,562 votes were cast in the Area 4 race between Jackson and Nichols with an additional 443 voters choosing to not vote for either candidate. Jackson finished with 2,308 votes while Nichols received 2,254.

Meanwhile, the races in Areas 2 and 3 have been pretty much settled since election night.

In Area 2, incumbent and current Board president Lori Carlson achieved 67.15 percent of the vote over challenger Shenique Texeira Borunda. In that race, 2,913 votes were cast with an additional 452 voters deciding to vote for neither candidate.

In Area 3, challenger Paola Maldonado-Padilla achieved 57.67 percent of the vote over incumbent Kenneth D. Howenstine. In that race, 2,320 votes were cast with an additional 342 choosing to not vote for either candidate.

There will be no recounts or audits for any of the races, as they had not been requested by California or Stanislaus County deadlines. The canvassing of the elections has already been completed and the results moved to certification on Nov. 23.

Carlson, Jackson, Jagpal and Maldonado-Padilla will serve alongside trustees Anthony Silva, Jose Sanchez and Daniel Benedict, who will not be up for reelection until 2024.