By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Pitman’s Mettler earns league MVP
Addison Mettler
Pitman High softball standout and UCLA-bound senior Addison Mettler was named MVP of the Central California Athletic League (Journal file photo).

Pitman High softball standout Addison Mettler has been named MVP of the Central California Athletic League.

The UCLA-bound senior batted .587 (27-for-46) in 15 league games, with 17 runs scored, 16 RBIs, two doubles, a triple and six home runs.

For the season, Mettler hit .536 (30-for-56) with 24 runs scored and 23 RBIs.

Mettler led the Pride to the Sac-Joaquin Section playoffs for the first time since 2016, where they were ousted in the first round by Whitney (Rocklin).

Mettler signed a letter of intent last November to play collegiately at UCLA.

“My interest in UCLA all started around when I was, like, 8 years old,” said Mettler. “I went on this overnight camp, and I just loved it. … I just liked the coaches, the environment and I just love L.A.”

Mettler missed most of two seasons due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Addie has made a huge impact on Pitman High School,” said athletic director Dustin Curtiss at the time of the signing. “It’s safe to say that if we had four full seasons, I think a lot of other records would be obliterated our softball record book.”

In addition to Mettler, Pitman’s senior Lacie Nycum was named the Defensive Player of the Year, while Enochs senior Jordan Bennett was tabbed Offensive Player of the Year.

Pitcher of the Year honors went junior Kailey Estes of Gregori, while Downey’s Renee Downey was Coach of the Year.

Rylee Reeves, a junior infielder for the Pride, was a first-team selection, as was sophomore Cadee Campbell of Turlock. 

Pitman’s Madison Rosebrough and Turlock’s Ayla Lacerda were second-team selections, while the Pride’s Gabby Pacheco, a senior, and the Bulldogs’ Hailey Bacon, a junior, were honorable mentions.


All-TVL softball

Three Hilmar players, two from Hughson gain first-team distinction — Senior Emily Cogswell, junior Abby Blevins and sophomore Camryn Mattos of Hilmar joined Hughson sophomore Grace Leedom and freshman Presley Wells as members of the Trans-Valley League’s first-team.

In addition, Hilmar’s Demi Silva and Emma Gomes, along with Hughson’s Makayla Bleakley and Noelia Lopez, were honorable mentions.

Ripon junior Kharime Caratachea was the loop’s MVP, while Janeiya Lopez was named the league’s Pitcher of the Year.

Macie Vickers of Escalon was the choice for Offensive Player of the Year and Denise Vargas of Riverbank was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year.

Tanner Jordan of Ripon was the TVL Coach of the Year.