By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Denham honors area students
Placeholder Image

Representative Jeff Denham (R-Turlock) honored 22 students from high schools across the Central Valley on Tuesday night at his annual Congressional Merit Awards ceremony.


“These students’ demonstration of leadership, scholastic excellence and commitment to our community is inspiring,” said Denham. “It is an honor to present this group of young leaders with the Congressional Merit Award and I look forward to seeing their great accomplishments in the future.”


Each award recipient was nominated by their high school’s principal for their academic achievement, leadership, involvement in extracurricular activities, school citizenship, volunteerism and community service. The Congressional Merit Award program is open to all 48 high schools in the 10th district.


The list of recipients, who are all seniors at their respective schools, is as follows:


Ervin Baccay – Merrill F. West High School

Raul Barraza – Argus High School

Gregory Cameron – Thomas Downey High School

McKenna Doyle – Sierra High School

Shelley Fung – Grace M. Davis High School

Miguel Gonzalez – Harvest High School

Victoria Hawkins – Joseph A. Gregori High School

David Hunt – Central Catholic High School

Medha Kothari – Kimball High School 
Mahima Krishnamoorthi – Modesto High School
Savannah Limon – Big Valley Christian High School

Angelina Orozco – Turlock High School

Alejandra Parada – Denair High School

Tejal Patel – Modesto Christian High School

Ashley Pierce – Johansen High School

Ricardo Ramirez – Hughson High School

Noah Roysdon – Valley Charter High School

McCalister Russell – Turlock Christian High School

Cody Sharar – James C. Enochs High School

Jacob Sloan - Fred C. Beyer High School
Hailey Van Laar – Ripon Christian High School

Elijah Vernon – Riverbank High School