By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Candidates set for November elections
Some races still seeking contenders
Although the Turlock Unified School District Board of Trustees election is still four months away, signs for candidates are already seen around town.
Candidates for the Nov. 3 2009 Election

Chatom Union School District, 3 Governing Board Members *
Anthony Avila, Local Businessman
Kevin Blount, Incumbent
Rodney “Skip” E. Machado, Teacher
Rob Santos, Incumbent

Denair Unified School District, 2 Governing Board Members
Louisa Allen, Incumbent
Eric Anderson, Educator
Norma M. Cordova, Incumbent
Robert Hodges, Farmer
Denise M. Hurd, Technology Consultant
Ray Prock Jr., Dairy Farmer

Keyes Union School District, 3 Governing Board Members *
Antonio Aguilar, Incumbent
Jimmy Emmons Sr., School Maintenance
Sophia Munoz-Jimenez, Entrepreneur
Remona Rayburn, Incumbent
Jeff Reed, Businessman
Christopher Reynolds, Minister / Businessman

Turlock Unified School District, 3 Governing Board Members
Josh Bernard, Farmer / Dairyman
Lori Crivelli, Business Owner
Timm LaVelle, Incumbent
Tami Muniz, Incumbent
Felicia D. Renshaw, Incumbent
Bob Weaver, Fieldman

Denair Community Service District, 2 Directors
Donald George Smith Jr., Incumbent
Diedre Thomas, Appointed Incumbent

Keyes Community Service District, 3 Directors
Henry Benavides, Incumbent
Harinder Grewal, Incumbent
Davie Landers Jr., Incumbent

Turlock Irrigation District Division 2 Director
Charles Fernandes, Incumbent

Turlock Irrigation District Division 3 Director *
Joe Alamo, Dairyman/Agribusinessman
Keith Silva, Businessman

Turlock Irrigation District Division 5 Director
Ron Macedo, Farmer/Agribusinessman
Pamela Sweeten, Agri Business Advocate

Denair Municipal Advisory Council, 3 Members
None filed

Keyes Municipal Advisory Council, 2 Members
Harinder Grewal, Incumbent
Karen Poppen, Incumbent

* means the filing period is still open
As the clock struck 4 p.m. on Friday, the candidate filing deadline for the Nov. 3 Consolidated District Election drew to a close and the fields were set for the upcoming elections.
Except for the five local races in which incumbents elected not to seek another term, that is.
Turlock Irrigation District Division 3 Director Michael Berryhill Sr., TID Division 5 Director Randy Fiorini, Chatom Union School District Board Member Karen Macedo, Keyes Union School District Governing Board Member Marianne Pietrzyk, and all three incumbent Denair Municipal Advisory Council Members did not file papers to enter the Nov. 3 election.
Not a single person has yet filed for the Denair MAC election.
Under California law, the filing deadline for the five local races in which incumbents are not seeking reelection is now extended until 5 p.m. on Aug. 12. Any potential candidate can submit paperwork to run for office until that date, except for incumbents who failed to file by Friday’s deadline.
According to Stanislaus County Clerk-Recorder Lee Lundrigan, the law was developed to give those who would have been concerned about running against powerful incumbents to enter what are now wide-open races.
To be eligible for office, candidates must be registered Stanislaus County voters and residents of the district in which they wish to file. Other restrictions may apply on a race-by-race basis.
While several races are still seeking candidates, a few elections are already decided.
TID Division 2 Director Charles Fernandes, Denair Community Service District Directors Donald George Smith Jr. and Diedre Thomas, Keyes Community Service District Directors Henry Benavides, Harinder Grewal, and Davie Landers Jr., and Keyes Municipal Advisory Council Members Harinder Grewal and Karen Poppen will all be running unopposed in November.
While elections will still be held, each of the aforementioned persons has effectively already secured their seats.
For more information on the Nov. 3 elections, visit or call the County Clerk-Recorder’s Office at 525-5200. Spanish speakers can contact the Clerk-Recorder’s Office at 525-5230.
To vote in the Nov. 3 election, Stanislaus County residents must be United States citizens, not in prison or on parole for conviction of a felony, at least 18 years of age on Nov. 3 and be registered to vote by Oct. 19.
To contact Alex Cantatore, e-mail or call 634-9141 ext. 2005.