By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Stanislaus golf qualifies for nationals, but first regional tourney
Mens Golf Team Pic
The Cal State Stanislaus men’s golf team is set for the NCAA West/Central Regional Tournament on May 2-4 at the University of New Mexico’s University Golf Course in Albuquerque, N.M. - photo by Photo courtesy of Cal State Stanislaus Athletics

The Cal State Stanislaus men’s golf team has earned a berth in the 2011 NCAA Division II Golf Championship after receiving one of 10 berths in the NCAA West/Central Regional, set on May 2-4 at the University of New Mexico’s University Golf Course in Albuquerque, N.M.

The Warriors, ranked No. 16 in the latest Golf Coaches Association of America poll, are led by all-conference players Trevor Blair and Teddy Schrier. Cal State Stanislaus is coming off a third-place showing at the California Collegiate Athletic Association Championships last week in Paso Robles.

The top five teams, regardless of region, in the event will advance to the NCAA Championship on May 16-20 at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at The Shoals in Florence, Ala. The top two individuals not attached to a team advancing also will have the opportunity to represent their team in Alabama.

CCAA champion Cal State Monterey Bay received the automatic berth in the regional by virtue of its championship. The Otters and the Warriors will be joined by fellow CCAA members Chico State, Cal State San Bernardino and Sonoma State.

Since 1976, the Warriors have always qualified for a regional or district tournament at either the Division II or III level. They are also making their 22nd trip as a Division II program with one victory in 1996. Stanislaus, however, has not won the tournament as a team during the CCAA era, which began in 1999.

Last year, the Warriors rallied on the final day to jump from fifth to a third-place finish to qualify for the NCAA Championship tournament.

Since 1999, the Warriors have finished in the top five 10 out of 11 times with four second-place finishes. Individually, there have been two regional champions with Ryan Thornberry (2004) and Marc Lawless (2002).