By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Turlock students among scholarship winners
Group Shot
The Stanislaus Community Foundation handed out more than $57,000 in scholarships to area students this past academic year.

The Stanislaus Community Foundation and its scholarship partners awarded scholarships totaling over $57,000 to local students for the 2016-17 academic school year. 

This year's awards bring the total number of students who have received scholarships from the Stanislaus Community Foundation and its scholarship partners to nearly $550,000 since 2005. Stanislaus Community Foundation administers a number of scholarship awards on behalf of local families, companies and schools. While many of these scholarship funds are chosen by their own committees, Stanislaus Community Foundation also has an independent selection committee that chooses awards for a number of scholarship funds.

"We take great pleasure in reading the applications and the wonderful transcripts and resumes that accompany them," said Melanie Chiesa, chairman of the Foundation Scholarship Committee. "I continue to be amazed by the level of accomplishment of these students who are so active in the community while maintaining high grade-point averages. We are proud of each and every student who applied and we look forward to learning more about their future achievements."

The winners for 2016 are as follows:

* Arthur T. & Corrine K. Shields Memorial Scholarship: Rachel Hultgren, Kaitlynn Fisher, Ashley Murillo, Stephen Janda

* Diane Bava Amador Scholarship: Miguel Moreno

* The Dr. Grant E. & Colleen S. Bare Scholarship Fund: Thomas Ott, Laura Rodriguez, Lance Lebray

* Edward T. Taylor, Jr. Perpetual Memorial Scholarship:  Connor Brink-Sawyer

* The First Tee of Central Valley Scholarship: Jian Caparros, Kristina Chan

* James McClatchy Bee Employees Scholarship: Julia Predmore, Elysia Houston, Ethan James Sun Clark

* Jane Wynne Woolley Scholarship: Jaqueline Garcia Roldan

* Melinda Nielsen Sousa Scholarship: Haomin Mai

* Pat Maciel Lubeck Perpetual Memorial Scholarship: Gabriela Vargas

* Virginia Azevedo Memorial Scholarship: Ramanjeet Kaur

* Ryan Dickerson Scholarship: Esmeralda Guzman

* Trinitas Farming Scholarship: Celeste Hernandez

* Trinitas Farming Community Scholarship: Quinton Coelho, Megan Silva, Megan Silveira

* Gemperle Family Farms Scholarship: Daisy Santana, Juan Santana, Deysi Ramirez

The scholarships are for college-bound high school seniors and current college students planning to pursue degrees in a wide range of fields including general studies, technical training programs, science, technology and engineering.

"The Stanislaus Community Foundation is proud to support the academic goals of local students," said Marian Kaanon, Stanislaus Community Foundation chief executive officer. "These students will be our future elected officials, business owners, doctors, and teachers. Investments in their academic pursuits are direct investments into our greatest community asset — our people."