By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Election filing period closed; TUSD fields 7 candidates
Placeholder Image

Elections on the Nov. 8 Ballot:

Turlock Irrigation District – Division 1 (Vote for 1)
Christopher Barth – Businessman/Farmer
Michael Frantz – Farmer/Businessman

Denair Unified School District (Vote for 3)
Carolyn D. Brown - Incumbent
John E. Plett - Retired Law Enforcement
Don Smith, Jr. - Retired
Julian N. Wren - Social Worker Supervisor

Keyes Union School District (Vote for 2)
Bob Edwards - Incumbent
Carlos Jimenez - Ag Field Representative
Tammy L. Suarez - Accountant

Turlock Unified School District – Full Term (Vote for 4)
- District Area Shared with Merced County
Miguel A. Galvez – Real Estate Agent
Harinder Grewal – Senior Inspector
Eileen Hamilton – Incumbent
Andrew Johnson – Fund Development Specialist
Frank M. Lima – Incumbent
Grady L. Welch – Parole Agent

Keyes Community Service District – Full Term (Vote for 2)
William Alexander – No Designation
Mike Bernal – Campus Safety Officer
Casey Chadwick – Incumbent
Roberto Jiminez – Media Research Developer


Elections already decided:

Turlock Irrigation District - Division 4
Rob Santos – Veterinarian (Incumbent)

Denair Municipal Advisory Council
Cheryl Zumstein – Appointed Incumbent
Dennis R. Findley – Incumbent

Keyes Municipal Advisory Council                                                 
Davie Landers Jr. – Incumbent
William Alexander – Incumbent
Jeff Reed – Incumbent

Chatom Union School District
Steve Soderstrom – Incumbent
Daniel J. Costa – Incumbent

Hughson Unified School District
Mark Harman – Business Owner (Incumbent)
James Hudelson – Incumbent

Turlock Unified School District – Short Term
Tami Harril-Muniz – Appointed Incumbent

Denair Community Service District
Ronald C. Allen – Incumbent
T. J. McDonald – Incumbent
Karl F. Curnow – Incumbent

Keyes Community Service District – Short-Term
Jonathan Parker – Appointed Incumbent

Hughson Fire Protection District
David S. Absher – Incumbent
Miguel Oseguera – Pharmacy Technician/Firefighter
One to be Appointed

The extended candidate filing period for the Nov. 8 Consolidated District Election drew to a close on Wednesday, with five local races qualifying for the election ballot.

The Turlock Unified School District race offers the most crowded field, with seven candidates vying for three seats. Incumbents Frank Lima and Eileen Hamilton will take part in the race, but Loren Holt did not file for reelection. The incumbents will face off against real estate agent Miguel Galvez, senior inspector Harinder Grewal, fund development specialist Andrew Johnson, and parole agent Grady Welch.

Also on the ballot, Turlock Irrigation District Division 1 Director Michael Frantz, appointed following the 2009 death of former Director Phillip Short, will defend his seat for the first time against Turlock-based businessman and farmer Christopher Barth.

Denair Unified School District, Keyes Union School District, and Keyes Community Service District campaigns will also be decided on the ballot.

Voters will decide only races which saw more applicants than the available number of positions.

Those races which saw applicants less than or equal to the number of available positions will have the seats filled by appointment.

For information on working as an election officer, or on registering to vote, visit the County Clerk-Recorder/Elections Office at 1021 “I” Street, Room 101, between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., call 525-5200, or visit For assistance in Spanish, call 525-5230.

To contact Alex Cantatore, e-mail or call 634-9141 ext. 2005.