By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
New civil grand jury selected
Placeholder Image

The Stanislaus County Civil Grand Jury for 2015-16 has been selected by the Superior Court and started their term Wednesday.

Judge Marie Sovey Silveira presided over the selection of the nineteen people who will serve on the jury for one year.

Judge Silveira appointed Edward Halsey foreperson of the 2015-2016 Civil Grand Jury. Two jurors from the 2014-2015 jury were held over to serve a second term: Kathleen Jenner and David Duarte. Sixteen names were then drawn randomly to complete the 19-member grand jury panel. Four additional names were drawn as alternates, who will serve in the event that a regular grand juror resigns or is removed.

Immediately after the swearing-in ceremony, the new panel attended an orientation session. They also are required to attend a two-day training session presented by the California Grand Jurors' Association, a not-for-profit educational organization, on July 9 and 10.

Selected for the Civil Grand Jury were: Robert E. Boyd of Turlock; Michael M. Brem of Turlock; Frank T. Daras, Jr. of Patterson; David M. Domico of Turlock; David A. Duarte of Modesto; Charles E. Groves of Modesto; Edward B. Halsey of Turlock; Bruce W. Helmer of Modesto; Pamela M. Houser of Modesto; Kathleen E. Jenner of Modesto; Benjamin E. Kelly of Oakdale; John J. Kilcoyne of Modesto; Helen C. Perry of Denair; Bette Lou Rubin-Smith of Modesto; Wendy C. Scott of Ceres; William R. Terra of Modesto; Garth Teters of Modesto; Magdalena G. Vargas of Ceres; and John W. Wynn of Modesto.

The  alternates are:  Harold D. Rubin-Smith of Modesto; Joseph W. Aja of Modesto;  Byron A. Gregerson of Modesto; and Homero Mejia of Ceres .