By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Turlock Fire Department honors their own
fire award2
The Turlock Fire Department handed out several awards Friday to personnel who had shown excellence in their field. - photo by SABRA STAFFORD/The Journal

The Turlock Fire Department took time Friday to honor some of the achievements and success of their personnel with a presentation of awards.

Friday’s ceremony marked Fire Chief Robert Talloni’s first award ceremony as the fire department’s chief and he took the opportunity to commend his staff.

“Today’s award recipients understand execution is key and second chances are few,” Talloni said. “They have consistently set the standard by being the standard.”

The fire department awarded their 2015 customer service award to Engineer Kevin Tidwell, who has promoted the fire department through social media and allowed the public to get an up close view of the department’s day to day activities.

Receiving the Chief’s Excellence Award were Capt. Larry Mouw and Battalion Chief Bill Becker. In presenting the awards, Division Chief Brian White recognized Mouw for his “outstanding leadership” and Becker for his vision that was “an inspiration to the department.”

The department awarded Firefighter Dale Melden with the 2015 Firefighter of the Year award, stating his dedication to the community and the department made him an excellent candidate for this year’s award.

“I’m really humbled by this,” Melden said in accepting his award. “We are here for one reason and that is to give the best service to the citizens of Turlock. This has been the best year of my career and I’m proud to work with all of you.”

Each year’s recipient has their name etched on a special plaque the department keeps displayed in the administration office. This year the department wanted to give past winners plaques they could display at their own homes as well. Past winners of the Firefighter of the Year award recognized at Friday’s ceremony were: Capt. Kevin Forsythe (2011); Capt. Shaun Walker (2012); Capt. Frank Saldivar (2013); and Capt. David Mallory (2014).