By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Olsen named Legislator of the Year by Rural County Assoc.
Placeholder Image

The Rural County Representatives of California has selected Assemblywoman Kristin Olsen (R-Modesto) as one of two recipients for the annual "Patti Mattingly Award" for 2012. The Patti Mattingly Award is given to a policymaker who has demonstrated leadership on rural issues and an understanding of the unique challenges that rural communities face.
"Assemblywoman Olsen's efforts exemplify what can be accomplished when one rolls up their sleeves and works for the greater good - all the time by being respectful to the positions of others in the process," said Supervisor Kevin Cann of Mariposa County, chair of the Rural County Representatives of California.
RCRC's Patti Mattingly Award was established in memory of former Supervisor Patti Mattingly of Siskiyou County who had tremendous courage, commitment, and ability to promote constructive solutions surrounding rural issues. The recipient is selected by the RCRC Board of Directors.
In 2010, Assemblywoman Olsen was elected to the 25th Assembly District which, along with Stanislaus County, included the following rural counties: Calaveras, Madera, Mariposa, Mono, and Tuolumne. Due to re-districting, Olsen was re-elected in 2012 to represent portions of San Joaquin and Stanislaus Counties. Most of the district geographically is very rural.
"Even though Ms. Olsen will no longer be representing several RCRC-member counties, we know her door will remain open and she'll continue the work she began on behalf of counties both large and small," said Supervisor Cann.
During the 2011-12 Legislative Session, Assemblywoman Olsen's important actions included:
• Co-authoring legislative efforts to repeal fees imposed on those who reside in State Responsibility Areas;
• authoring AB 890 which exempts from the California Environmental Quality Act the rehabilitation of existing roadways, provided the project is carried out by a city or county to improve public safety;
• authoring AB 1973 which related to protected species and the Ferguson Slide Permanent Restoration Project in Mariposa County;
• authoring AB 1592 which related to the waiving of municipal fees for disabled veterans.
In addition to Assemblywoman Olsen, former Assemblywoman Fiona Ma (D-San Francisco) was selected to receive the Patti Mattingly Award for her efforts on behalf of rural counties.
RCRC, formerly known as the Regional Council of Rural Counties, is an association of 32 rural counties that advocates before the Legislature, Congress and state and federal government agencies on behalf of rural issues. Headquartered in Sacramento, county supervisors comprise RCRC's governing board.